I had someone ask me an interesting question the other day about whether or not I think it matters for worship what the church looks like.  The trend has been for church sanctuaries to make them functional, much like a gym that you can put chairs in for Sundays.  To me these rooms still function quite well as a sanctuary, but do you think it takes away from worship to be in a building without stained glass windows or pews?

I have heard of some people that say, “I just cannot worship in this church.  There’s a basketball court right under my feet.”  For me it does not matter what location I am in.  It does not matter to me whether I’m in a barn, in the middle of a parking lot, or in the most beautiful cathedral, the quality of my worship is not contingent on the aesthetic appeal.

I am not saying that I do not like churches with stained glass or pews.  I think they are absolutely beautiful, and I do love to be in them.  I am just saying that worship to God does not depend on our surrounding.

My sister would tell you that worshipping in Haiti in a building almost like a warehouse was one of her most emotional times of worship.  God can work in any kind of building, and God hears and enjoys our worship no matter where we are when we praise him.  I think that is important to remember.  Everyone has different venues that they are comfortable in, just like everyone has different styles of music that they connect with more, but as long as we have the right mindset and our heart is in the right place, we can worship anywhere in any situation.  It is a matter of the heart, not a matter of what you would prefer.  Our preferences should not matter in the grand scheme of worship to God.

