I recently finished “You Lost Me” by David Kinneman and the Barna Group.  For those of you who do not know about the Barna Group, they do researches about Christians and then draw conclusions based upon that data.  This book was about young adults leaving the church.  David Kinneman outlines the research and what it shows us, and then also gives suggestions for what the church can do to keep young adults in the church.

One of his suggestions that stood out to me the most, as something much needed, is mentors.  How much more of a rich environment would our church have if adults were being mentors to the younger generation?

As a young adult, I think I would have benefited greatly from someone taking the time to mentor me.  While I did have adults who were invested in my life and who I had a good relationship with, the book talks specifically about adult Christians mentoring young adults with the same career pursuit in mind.  I think this is especially helpful, especially for the majority of young adults going into a secular career.  It would have been very helpful to have a Christian mentor to advise me about my career, and counsel me on how to live out my faith within a secular environment.

As we continue in our churches, let us remember what an important influence we can be in the lives of the younger generations.  Let us focus on meaningful, intentional relationships and mentoring.

