I have been trying to read more blogs for inspiration. I have had a bit of a writer’s block when it comes to blogging about church marketing. I am still very passionate about the topic, but without being in school or in a church that does a lot of church marketing, I find it hard to find topics to write about. So, I have gone searching for content. One blog that I have been reading is Leadership Freak. While it is not directly about churches, I definitely think much of what he writes about can be applied. I really enjoyed his blog post today titled “How to Get Where You Want to Grow.” I encourage you to check it out.

I want to highlight a couple of things that the blogger mentioned. First he says that “everyone wants to grow but now everyone wants to step from the known into the unknown.” Doing something you have never done before takes a huge leap of faith. But, how are you ever going to grow if you never do anything new? If we keep doing the same old things day after day, we will keep getting the same results. Someone once said that insanity is doing the same thing and expecting different results. How can our churches expect to grow if we are not taking a chance and giving us a chance to grow?

The blogger gives four steps for if you want to grow:
1-Hang with people out of your league
2-Say yes and I’ll try
3-Trust
4-Evaluate after, not during, stretch experiences

I think these are four very important things to remember. Especially for those in churches. The first idea is that of mentorship, in my opinion. You need to hang out with people who you want to emulate and who do things better than you do. This gives you an opportunity to learn and grow. One way a church leader could apply this is by meeting with pastors in churches bigger than their own. The next two points go hand in hand. You must trust, say yes, and try things. You cannot be afraid to try new things. If you are too afraid to step out, then how can God provide dramatic results and growth? And finally, see it through. Complete your goal and then look back and evaluate it. If you are always evaluating as you go, then you can lose the point of why you stepped out in the first place.

The blogger sums the who idea of how to grow very nicely: “We never grow until we do something we have not done before.”

So here’s my challenge, do something you have never done before and see where it takes you. You may be surprised.

